Device group settings

You can use device group settings to configure certain settings for devices within a specific group. Sub-groups can inherit settings from their parent group or use their own settings. Enabling a feature makes it available to users with the appropriate permissions, while disabling it prevents all users from using that feature, regardless of their permissions.

By default, all settings are enabled, except for Require end user acknowledgement for devices.

Access device group settings

  1. Go to Managed in the side menu.

  2. Select a device group.

  3. Click the Group settings tab.

Inherit settings

Sub-groups can inherit settings from their parent group. When creating a new sub-group, Inherit settings from parent is enabled by default.

To apply the parent group's settings to an existing sub-group, click Inherit settings. The individual setting drop-downs are hidden and the inherited settings are displayed. You can still click Enable all or Disable all to enable or disable all settings for the sub-group.

To configure individual settings for the sub-group, click Customise settings. The drop-downs are where you can enable or disable each setting individually.

Available settings

Device group settings page for the Cambridge office. A list of features such as chat, PowerShell, Registry Editor and Task Manager are shown, with drop-downs set to either Enabled or Disabled. All features are enabled. Inherit settings, Enable all and Disable all icons are in the top right and Cancel and Save buttons appear at the bottom.

When customising settings for a device group, use the drop-down menus for each option to enable or disable it:

Chat with devices in the group.

Send messages to devices in the group.

Run PowerShell commands on devices in the group.

Access and edit the Windows registry on devices in the group.

Determines whether the end user of a device must approve a remote control session before it starts.

Enabled: The end user at the device must approve the session.

Disabled: Remote control sessions can start without end user approval.

Specifies whether the Agent window (user interface) appears when a user connects to a device.

Enabled: The Agent window opens automatically when a user connects.

Disabled: The Agent window does not appear when a user connects.

Note: When disabled, the 247connect icon in the system tray turns green to indicate that a user is connected.

Use the Task Manager with devices in the group.

Transfer files to devices.

View device screens.

Click Save to update the settings.